Sergio García Dols inherits victory in Moto3 and Acosta makes history in Moto2

Izan Guevara, who entered the finish line first, was left without victory in the small category for exceeding the limits of the track

The Murcian became the youngest winner of the intermediate displacement, beating Marc Márquez’s record


The Spanish rider Sergio García Dols (GasGas) claimed victory this Sunday in the Moto3 race of the Italian Grand Prix, the eighth round of the Motorcycle World Championship, after his teammate Izan Guevara (GasGas), who entered the finish line first, was sanctioned with a position for exceeding the limits of the track and finished second, while Pedro Acosta (Kalex) has dominated in Moto2 and has become the youngest winner in the history of the intermediate category.

Guevara, winner in Jerez, was celebrating his second victory in the championship when Race Direction warned that he had stepped on the green on the last lap. The one from Burriana, who came in second, was finally awarded a victory that serves to endorse his advantage at the head of the general classification.

In this way, he adds 137 points, ahead of his teammate by 28, who despite the disappointment this Sunday rises to second place in the championship and displaces Jaume Masià (KTM), who could only be seventeenth and stays behind. 42 units of the leader.

In an uneventful start at Mugello, Turkey’s Deniz Oncu (KTM) held on to pole position against the push of Brazil’s Diogo Moreira (KTM), who climbed from seventh to second to get behind his wheel. Izan Guevara (GasGas) managed to overtake the South American at turn 1 of the second lap to become the Ottoman’s main pursuer.

Read:  Alberto Puig: "Márquez's objective is not to be fourth or sixth"

Both overtook the ‘poleman’ one lap later and started a three-way fight that the Italian Dennis Foggia (Honda) took advantage of, who on lap 16 took command and began to escape with a large group of pilots on the hunt. However, everything was blown up with ten laps to go.

Oncu, the only driver who had scored points in all the races of the year so far, went down and Foggia also ended up in the gravel due to an intense gust of wind that revolutionized the appointment in Mugello. John McPhee (Husqvarna) and Dani Holgado (KTM), who had started second, suffered crashes and the front group was reduced to seven riders, with Moreira leading.

Guevara and Sergio García Dols remained with options until the end; The one from Palma managed to enter the finish line first, with 21 thousandths of an advantage over the one from Burriana and 33 over the Japanese Tatsuki Suzuki (Honda), but shortly after he saw how the victory was withdrawn for exceeding the limits of the track in the final lap.

As for the rest of the Spaniards, Iván Ortolá (KTM) finished seventh, Adrián Fernández (KTM) finished tenth, ahead of David Muñoz (KTM), Masià was seventeenth, Carlos Tatay (CFMoto) nineteenth, Xavi Artigas (CFMoto) twentieth and Ana Carrasco (KTM), twenty-second. Dani Holgado (KTM) failed to finish.

Read:  Viñales: "Soon we will be ready to win the World Cup"


In Moto2, the Spaniard Pedro Acosta (Kalex) has achieved his first victory of the year and has become the youngest winner in the history of the intermediate category, at 18 years and four days, beating the record set by Marc for two months. Marquez in France in 2011.

The Murcian, who started second and took the lead very quickly, dominated the event together with Arón Canet (Kalex), Saturday’s ‘poleman’ and who was left out of the fight with a crash with nine laps to go when He was running second after Mazarrón.

The leader of the general classification also fell, the Italian Celestino Vietti (Kalex), who despite his zero is still at the top of the classification with 108 points, the same as the Japanese Ai Ogura (Kalex), who was third this Sunday. Canet remains third (89) 19 units from the transalpine.

After Acosta, the American Joe Roberts (Kalex) and the Japanese driver completed the podium, benefiting from the Corbera incident. In addition, Augusto Fernández (Kalex) was fifth, Alonso López (Boscoscuro) eighth and Albert Arenas (Kalex) closed the ‘Top 10’.

Jorge Navarro (Kalex) finished in twelfth position, Fermín Aldeguer (Boscoscuro) finished fourteenth, Jeremy Alcoba (Kalex) seventeenth and Manu González (Kalex), twentieth. Marcos Ramírez (MV Augusta) failed to finish.

The Best Online Bookmakers November 29 2023

BetMGM Casino