Russian citizens will not be able to enter Taiwan without a visa

Taiwan has not renewed the trial program it implemented in 2018 under which Russian passport holders could enter the country without a visa, after it expired last July 31.

The program included three more countries besides Russia, Thailand Brunei and the Philippines and had been extended several times. However, in the latest extension — in which the deadline was extended to July 2023 — the Putin-led country has been left out of the agreement, the Foreign Ministry has confirmed to Taiwan’s ‘CNA’ news agency.

However, border controls resulting from the pandemic mean that in practice these three countries also cannot enter the country without carrying a visa. Taiwan suspended visa-free privileges for all foreigners, except those with residency there, in March 2020 in the midst of the spread of COVID-19.

Read:  Japan's legislative election projections show prime minister and his party as big winners

This access, as detailed from the Foreign Ministry to ‘CNA’, was offered to “promote tourism and bilateral trade ties”, although Taiwanese have to apply for a visa before traveling to Russia.

In 2022, the Asian country has gradually reduced restrictions including visa-free entry into the country for citizens of its 14 allied countries, including the United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand and several European countries.

The Best Online Bookmakers May 18 2024

BetMGM Casino