Here is the list of the top 10 tax havens for crypto-currencies.

First, it notes how Portugal, once considered Europe’s ultimate crypto tax haven for having zero taxation on crypto-currencies, has dropped off the list after announcing a short-term 28% tax on digital currency investment gains. In addition, the Portuguese government plans to levy a 4% tax on crypto-currency transfers between individuals.

So, M6 Labs says, as now that Portugal is no longer a tax haven, here are some alternatives for those looking for a country with little or no tax on crypto :

1.- Switzerland

Private investors will not have to pay tax on their crypto-currency gains, but companies and independent traders will have to pay capital gains tax.

Certain conditions must be met:

  • You must hold cryptographic assets for at least 6 months.
  • Sales must be less than “5 times your participation“.
  • The net capital gain must be less than 50% of his total income.

2 – Singapore

According to the M6Labs report, capital gains are not taxable in Singapore; therefore, capital gains made when purchasing cryptocurrencies for long-term investment purposes are not taxable.

Read:  Web3: Solana has opened a real-world store in New York

On the other hand, you will pay taxes if you regularly trade in crypto-currencies.

3 – United Arab Emirates

In Dubai, personal income tax is 0%, says M6Labs Group.

Specifically, there is no personal income tax if you are a tax resident in Dubai, regardless of the amount of your income. There is also no capital gains tax, whether you are actively trading or simply holding crypto assets.

4.- Slovenia

Slovenia has proposed a tax on crypto-currency exchanges. It applies a flat rate of just under 5% for crypto-currency transactions, as well as when selling or trading them.

5 – The Bahamas

Foreign citizens and residents do not pay personal income or capital gains taxes The Bahamas also allows individuals to pay other taxes using crypto-currencies instead of traditional fiat currency payment methods. In addition, this set of islands has its own central bank digital currency: the sand dollar.

6.- Malta

The research group reports that Malta has a complicated tax system for crypto-currencies. There is no capital gains tax on profits made from crypto-currencies held on a long-term basis. However, crypto-currency exchanges in Malta are subject to a 35% business income tax.

7.- Puerto Rico

Puerto Rico residents who buy and sell crypto-currencies are not subject to capital gains tax. However, they must follow the tax laws of their home country for any crypto-currencies purchased outside of Puerto Rico.

Read:  Sam Bankman-Fried just posted the largest bail in white collar history!

8 – Malaysia

Malaysia does not consider crypto-currencies as a capital asset.

Thus, buying and selling crypto-currencies is essentially tax-free in the country, but only if it is not a regular form of income. So traders who buy and sell crypto on a daily basis and make a living from it will have to pay taxes.

9.- El Salvador

As has been said many times, El Salvador was the first nation to accept bitcoin as a legal currency, so they have pushed a series of measures to make this country an ideal country for crypto investors and traders. The president himself, Nayib Bukele, has promised to grant citizenship to foreigners who declare that they will engage in this activity.

Foreigners are not required to pay taxes on the income they earn from their crypto-currency profits.


Taiwan does not tax capital gains, says M6Labs. Crypto-currency transactions are treated as income from real estate transactions and must be reported as individual income for tax purposes.

However, this list is not final or set in stone. M6Labs recognizes that this list needs to be refreshed frequently because, as a relatively new technology, countries frequently change their tax policies on crypto-currencies.

The Best Online Bookmakers May 22 2024

BetMGM Casino