Switzerland joins latest EU sanctions package against Russia, adds 30 people to its list

Follow live the latest news on the war in Ukraine

Swiss authorities confirmed Wednesday that the country has joined the latest package of sanctions imposed by the European Union against Russia over its invasion of Ukraine and added another thirty individuals and entities to its list.

The government thus noted that another thirty individuals are now subject to financial restrictions and travel bans and pointed out that these individuals are mainly linked to the annexation referendums organized in the Ukrainian regions of Donetsk, Lugansk, Kherson and Zaporiyia.

Read:  Putin's approval rating among Russians rises to 81 percent

In addition, seven other entities have been included in the Swiss sanctioned list, as initiated by the government in a statement. The assets in Switzerland of all those sanctioned have now been frozen.

Moreover, the new decree indicates that restrictions that were already applicable to some areas of Donetsk and Lugansk will now apply to the areas of Kherson and Zaporiyia that are not under Russian control and have been “illegally annexed to Russia.”

These new sanctions will come into force at 18.00 (local time) this Wednesday, the text states.

The Best Online Bookmakers December 06 2023

BetMGM Casino