Izan Guevara achieves pole 600 for Spain and Acosta goes down


The Spanish rider Izan Guevara (Gas Gas) won pole position this Saturday, the first of his life, for the Moto3 race of the Qatar Grand Prix, the opening round of the Motorcycle World Championship, and will head the front row of the grid in which Jaume Masià (KTM) will start third.

Guevara, who had been the fastest on Friday in the small category, knew how to wait for his moment, taking advantage of slipstreams, to snatch the first position of Q2 at the last breath from the Japanese Ayumu Sasaki (Husqvarna), who after participating in Q1 he dominated for much of the session and will start second.

“I didn’t like the first run on the track very much, but we looked for a good lap in the last minutes of the ‘qualy’ and we managed to manage it, something that failed last year,” Guevara explained to DAZN after the qualifying session.

Read:  Alberto Puig: "Márquez is a rider who is one step above the rest"

With this, the 17-year-old from Palma achieved the first pole of his career and number 600 for Spanish motorcycling in the World Championship. In addition, Masià will accompany him on the front row, third, while Sergio García Dols (Gas Gas) will start eighth.

For his part, Iván Ortolá (KTM) will start tenth, just ahead of Carlos Tatay (Kalex); Xavi Artigas (Kalex) will start thirteenth, Dani Holgado (KTM) fifteenth, Adrián Fernández (KTM) twenty-third and Ana Carrasco (KTM), twenty-sixth.


In Moto2, the Italian Celestino Vietti (Kalex) took the first pole of the year ahead of his compatriot Tony Arbolino (Kalex) and the British Sam Lowes (Kalex), who saw how Race Direction withdrew his last lap, which aupaba to the first position, after stepping on the green.

Lowes managed to close the session in Losail leading the time table, but he did so by exceeding the limits of the track, an infraction that annulled his last time and allowed Cirié’s man to take the prize with a time of 1:59.082.

Read:  Marc Márquez: "We have taken a bit of a risk to test some things"

Among the Spaniards, Augusto Fernández (Kalex) was the fastest and will start from sixth place, while Fermín Aldeguer (Kalex), who had to go through Q1, Arón Canet (Kalex) and Pedro Acosta (Kalex) completed the ‘ Top 10’ in eighth, ninth and tenth position, respectively.

The Murcian ‘rookie’, current Moto3 world champion, was riding on pole times when, with four minutes to go in the session, he crashed and lost all his options to start from the front of the grid.

In addition, Jorge Navarro (Kalex) will start twelfth and Albert Arenas (Kalex) will start fifteenth. Among those who did not advance to Q2, Marcos Ramírez (MV Augusta) will start twenty-first, ahead of Jeremy Alcoba (Kalex), and Manuel González (Kalex) will start twenty-fourth.

The Best Online Bookmakers December 02 2023

BetMGM Casino