Home World News Canada extends its sanctions against Moscow and prohibits entry to Putin and...

Canada extends its sanctions against Moscow and prohibits entry to Putin and 1,000 other Russian citizens


Vladimir Putin, President of Russia

Vladimir Putin, President of Russia – MIKHAIL METZEL/KREMLIN POOL / ZUMA PRESS / CONTACT

Follow live the latest news about the war in Ukraine


The Minister of Public Security of Canada, Marco Mendicino, announced on Tuesday that the North American country will prohibit the entry of Russian President Vladimir Putin and 1,000 citizens of the Eurasian country for the invasion of Ukraine.

“In the face of the brutal attack by the Putin regime, Canada stands with Ukraine. That is why we have barred key associates and supporters of the Putin regime from entering our country, including those responsible for this unprovoked aggression,” he said. as collected by the Canadian channel CBC News.

Read:  Ukraine - Russia War : Borrell calls for unity to agree on visa restriction for Russian tourists

In a statement from the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA), Mendicino has indicated that it will introduce changes to the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act (IRPA) to prevent entry to the country of the sanctioned persons.

“These changes will allow Canada Border Services Agency to deny entry and remove individuals subject to sanctions, and will allow Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) officials to deny visas.” , brandishes the statement.

Thus, he explained that once it comes into force, “these amendments to the IRPA will apply to all foreign citizens subject to sanctions by Canada, and to the family members who accompany them.”

Read:  Iranian political leadership meets amid escalating protests

Among those sanctioned are high-ranking Russian government officials, such as Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov, billionaire oligarch Roman Abramovich, as well as Russian President Vladimir Putin’s adult daughters, Katerina Tikhonova and Maria Vorontsova, and Putin himself.

“We will continue to exhaust all options to defend freedom and democracy, punish Russia and support Ukraine,” Mendicino stated.

Russia has also sanctioned Canadians in retaliation for Canadian sanctions, including prime ministers, military officials and journalists.

Previous articleResearchers reveal two clues to know if you have covid without the need for a test
Next articleAsian manufacturers lose the battle for innovation: what data on the transition to electricity shows