Continuing to improve Google Drive’s services, Google is changing the permissions system for files shared using links, allowing you to set the expiration date before actually sharing the file. At the same time, a deadline can now also be set for automatically withdrawing access permissions for collaborators with editing rights.
Google has long allowed setting an expiration date for files distributed via links or in folders, and that data cannot be accessed. The problem was that the functionality was only available after the initial distribution of files, making it very difficult to manage access rights in companies and organizations with a large number of collaborators, whose access should be limited to certain collections of files or time intervals.
Simplifying this process, Google Drive will have a dedicated menu for setting access rights and possible expiration dates, integrated right into the edit menu shown when using the Share option.
Additionally, expiration dates for those files will be able to be set for collaborators with editing rights, not just those who can view them or leave comments. The feature is particularly useful for companies or organisations that use external collaborators, avoiding situations where the latter remain with access to sensitive files long after the end of their contract period.
The new functionality is available as of this week for Google Workspace Business Standard, Business Plus, Enterprise Essentials, Enterprise Standard, Enterprise Plus, Education Plus, Education Standard and nonprofit customers. Users who have a Google Workspace Essentials, Business Starter, Education Fundamentals, Teaching and Learning Upgrade and Frontline account will not receive these enhancements. Also, older G Suite Basic and Business customers, as well as users with personal Google accounts, will remain with the simpler version of the Share menu for now.